The incumbent chief minister’s party in India’s West Bengal state has defeated Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party in a state election held as the coronavirus pandemic surged to crisis levels.

Modi has been criticised for focusing on the elections instead of making the pandemic his top priority.

Some expert blame the federal election commission for allowing rallies and voting in which large crowds flouted rules on social distancing and mask-wearing. read more

Mamata Banerjee, 66, is set to be the chief of West Bengal for the third time after her Trinamool Congress party (TMC) won a two-thirds majority, taking more than 200 seats in the 294-seat state assembly, election commission officials said. Final counting for some seats was still underway.

Banerjee is now India’s only woman chief minister.

Despite the defeat, Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) made substantial gains, making it the main opposition party as its tally in the state legislature went to nearly 80 seats from just three seats won in 2016.

Modi, his colleagues and regional politicians campaigned aggressively in five state elections despite the pandemic. The results are seen as a test of the impact the pandemic’s second wave is having on support for him and his right-wing BJP.

Banerjee, a sharp critic of Modi, largely conducted a one-woman campaign to retain power by leading scores of public rallies.

“It is a stupendous performance by Mamata Banerjee because Modi was determined to win Bengal, but it’s clear that his entire political machinery and strategy was unable to defeat her,” said Diptendu Bhaskar, a political analyst in Kolkata, West Bengal’s capital.

In Assam state, the BJP managed to retain political power. In Tamil Nadu, the DMK – the main regional opposition party – secured victory

In Kerala state, the ruling lefist political party was set to form government while the BJP led-alliance won no seats. In the union territory of Puducherry, the All India NR Congress-led alliance was leading in 14 of the 30 seats assembly.

Most of the votes were cast in March, but polling in some constituencies continued through April, just as India started to detect thousands of new coronavirus infections everyday.



Election Results 2021: Early forecast

Kerala Assembly election result live updates: Trends in the first five hours of counting in the Kerala Assembly election show that the CPM-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) has a clear edge over principal rivals Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) and BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Leads at 1 pm show the LDF at 92 seats, UDF at 46 seats and BJP at 2 seats. Many contests are extremely tight and therefore the tallies may differ slightly. In the 140-member Assembly, the magic number for a majority is 71.
If these trends hold, chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan will break the state’s four-decade-old jinx of an incumbent not getting re-elected.

Exit polls of local and national television networks had predicted unanimously that the LDF will be re-elected with varying degrees of margins.


Tamil Nadu Election Results 2021 Live Updates: Early trends in counting show the DMK alliance in the lead in the Tamil Nadu Assembly election results. The party and its allies, including the Congress, are ahead in at least 133 seats, while the ruling AIADMK is up in 100 seats. In the 234-seat House, a party needs at least 118 seats to win the election. The AIADMK, which has been in power since 2011, hopes to extend its hold on the state for another term. The Opposition DMK, on the other hand, is hoping a mixture of incumbency and instability within the ruling party will allow it to return to the helm of affairs after a decade.
This election is the first in the state without two of Tamil Nadu’s towering political figures, M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalithaa. The gap they left in the political arena has given rise to other fronts over the last few years.
While the National Democratic Alliance, led by AIADMK, and Secular Progressive Alliance, led by DMK, hold sway over 70-80 per cent of the voter base, the others in the fray this election included an alliance led by TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) and one by actor-turned-politician Kamal Haasan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM). So far, neither party has significant gains.
All the exit polls have predicted a clean sweep for the DMK, with one even giving the alliance up to 195 seats.

Election Results 2021: Early forecast at this time (11:30 am) from Updates will be shared here

CPI-M leads on 56 seats in Kerala Assembly polls
ANI | Updated: May 02, 2021 11:32 IST

New Delhi [India], May 2 (ANI): Communist Party of India (Marxist) is leading on 56 seats in Kerala Assembly elections as counting of votes underway in the state. While Congress rinning with 23 seats so far.
The counting for 140 seats in the state has begun today at 8 am with COVID-19 protocol in place. The Election Commission has made necessary arrangements for counting, which is taking place amid an unprecedented surge in COVID-19 cases in the country.
The polling in the state was held in a single phase on April 6.

Guwahati, May 2 (PTI) The ruling BJP-led NDA surged ahead of the Grand Alliance spearheaded by the Congress in Assam, leading in 71 of the 110 seats from where trends were available till 11.25 am on Sunday.

The Grand Alliance is ahead in 38 places.

BJP candidates are leading in 54 seats, while those of its ally AGP in 10 and UPPL in seven.

The Congress has established leads in 26 places and AIUDF in 10.

Assam has a 126-member assembly and 64 seats are needed for a simple majority.

AINRC-led NDA was leading in puduchery

9 seats while the Congress headed alliance was ahead in three segments after first round of counting of votes polled in April 6 elections, officials said.

According to trends available till 10.30 am, AINRC chief N Rangasamy was leading in his constituency.

The NDA-led front comprises the AINRC, AIADMK and BJP.

There are 30 Assembly constituencies spread over Puducherr, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam regions.

The chief contestants in the poll are the AINRC leader N Rangasamy heading the NDA in which the AINRC, AIADMK and BJP are the constituents.

On the other side, the Congress-led Secular Democratic Alliance (SDA) comprises the Congress, DMK, VCK and CPI.


Trinamool 205+
BJP 90+

BJP 90+
Congress 35+

LDF 90

Tamil Nadu
DMK 140+